Jega heads Maitama Sule Centre for politics, governance

News by Agency reporter from The Nation Nigeria Read the complete details here

Kano State Government has appointed former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Attahiru Jega, to head the committee mandated to nurture the Maitama Sule Centre for Politics and Democratic Governance.

The state governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, who inaugurated the committee in Kano, said the Centre was to immortalise the late elder statesman for his immense contributions to political and democratic developments in the country.

“The Center will also be utilized for research and scholarly discourse for the advancement of politics and democratic governance,” he said.

Ganduje also described the late diplomat as a rare gentleman, intelligent and highly disciplined individual.

The governor mandated the committee to within eight weeks “analyse function and long term programmes of the Center, to determine appropriate name and location for it and provide appropriate frame work among others.”

Jega assured that the committee would undertake the assignment diligently.

Other members of the 15-man committee are – Justice Mamman Nasir, Alhaji Bashir Tofa, Prof. Mustapha Isa Ahmad, Prof. Shehu Musa Alhaji, Prof. Sule Bello and Prof. Dahiru Yahaya.

Others are – Engr. Mansur Ahmed, Tajuddeen Dantata, Arc. Ibrahim Haruna, Alhaji Muhtari Hassan, Alhaji Muhtari Maitama and representative of Kano Emirate Council.


The post Jega heads Maitama Sule Centre for politics, governance appeared first on The Nation Nigeria.